Food pyramids

Picture taken from HSE Ireland Healthy food made easy

Food Pyramids for Adult and children over 5  years.
It is a pyramid shaped guide, it helps individuals plan healthy diets on daily. It consists of six sections which categories in order of nutrients value to the body. Healthy eating is about getting the correct amount of nutrients –proteins, carbohydrates, fats, vitamins and minerals are required in a certain quantity by the body daily.
Comparing food on the pyramids
Food Groups
Food Pyramid Servings
Class of Nutrient
Breads, Cereals, Potatoes
Yams, Rice, Pasta
6 Portions
Fruits and Vegetables
5 Portions
Milk, Cheese &Yoghurt
3 Portions
Meat, Fish, Eggs, Beans, Nuts
2 Portions
Spreads and Oils
2 Serving Spread and 1 Teaspoon Oil
Foods and Drinks High in Fat, sugar and Salt
Maximum 1 Portion
Trans Fat, Sugar and Salt
8-10 Cups of Water (1 Cup is 200ml,
Equivalent to disposable cup quantity


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s